top of page

Plan Commission

The Berne Plan Commission meets on the second Monday of the month prior to the council meeting when there is an agenda item to be heard. The commission consists of nine members with the council appointing three members, the Mayor four members and the county appointing two members.

clock tower.png



Each city must have a Board of Works and Safety as established by Indiana Code (IC 36-4-9-7). The Board of Public Works and Safety consists of three members, one being the mayor. The remaining two members are appointed by the mayor and must be residents of the city and may hold other appointments or hold elected offices.

The Plan Commission may formulate policies for the development of public ways, public places, public structures, and public and private utilities, may formulate policies for the issuance of improvement location permits on platted and unplatted lands, may formulate policies of the laying out and development of public ways and services to platted and unplatted lands, and shall have other powers and duties as specified in applicable state law, and specifically adopts the “Advisory Planning Law” as set forth in I.C. 36-7-4-100 et seq.

The purpose of the Commission is to plan for future development of the city, to plan for the orderly use and growth of highway, utility, health, educational, and recreational facilities, and to maintain and improve the present health, safety, convenience, and welfare of the citizens.

(`84 Code, § 2-39) (Ord. 94, passed 6-12-61)

Current Plan Commission Members

Rod Mason - President
Jim Flueckiger - Vice President
Ted Beitler - Secretary

Kalla Caffee

Ron Dull

Brent Lehman
Rod Mosser
Linda Steury


bottom of page